Who owns East Timor?

Who owns East Timor?

The Island of Timor is currently divided in two parts: the West is part of the Republic of Indonesia with provincial capital in Kupang; while the East, whose capital is Dili since its independence, had been a Portuguese territory since the 16th century.

Who is the first president in Timor-Leste?

Presidents of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste

No. Name (Birth–Death) Elected
1 Xanana Gusmão (born 1946) 2002
2 José Ramos-Horta (born 1949) 2007
Vicente Guterres (born 1956) Ad interim

Who are the leaders of East Timor?

Francisco Guterres, popularly known as Lú-Olo (born 7 September 1954), is an East Timorese politician serving as president of East Timor since 2017. He is also the president of the political party Fretilin, and he was the first president of the National Parliament of East Timor from 2002 to 2007.

What was East Timor called before?

Portuguese Timor
Colonized by Portugal in the 16th century, East Timor was known as Portuguese Timor for centuries. It was invaded by Indonesia in 1975, which occupied it until 1999.

Why did Indonesia leave East Timor?

By broadcasting accusations of communism among Fretilin leaders and sowing discord in the UDT coalition, the Indonesian government fostered instability in East Timor and, observers said, created a pretext for invading. By May tensions between the two groups caused UDT to withdraw from the coalition.

WHO recognizes East Timor?

The United States recognized Timor-Leste, then known as East Timor, on May 20, 2002, when it achieved formal independence. Before this time, the region had been a Portuguese colony up until 1975 and was under Indonesian sovereignty from 1976 to 1999.

Who founded Timor-Leste?

The Portuguese
The Portuguese first settled on Timor in 1520, and the Spanish arrived in 1522. The Dutch took possession of the western portion of the island in 1613. The British governed the island in 1812–15.

Why is it called Timor-Leste?

In Portuguese, the country is called Timor-Leste (Leste being the word for “east”); in Tetum Timór Lorosa’e (Lorosa’e being the word for “east” (literally “rising sun”)).

Why does East Timor use the US dollar?

The US$ was chosen because it is a strong and stable currency and is widely accepted around the world. The decision to adopt the US$ was made by the National Consultative Council (NCC). The NCC represents East Timorese in all of UNTAET’s major decisions.

What is the youngest country in Asia?

As the youngest country in Asia and home to one of the youngest populations in the world, Timor-Leste is poised reconcile its difficult past and realize a more prosperous future.

Who owns West Timor?

West Timor (Indonesian: Timor Barat) is an area covering the western part of the island of Timor, except for the district of Oecussi-Ambeno (an East Timorese exclave). Administratively, West Timor is part of East Nusa Tenggara Province, Indonesia. The capital as well as its main port is Kupang.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top