Who is the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court?

Who is the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court?

Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., provided the following statement: To the extent this betrayal of the confidences of the Court was intended to undermine the integrity of our operations, it will not succeed. The work of the Court will not be affected in any way.

What is the makeup of the Supreme Court?

Nine Justices make up the current Supreme Court: one Chief Justice and eight Associate Justices. The Honorable John G. Roberts, Jr., is the 17th Chief Justice of the United States, and there have been 103 Associate Justices in the Court’s history.

How many Chief Justice are there in Supreme Court of India?

There are a total of 48 chief justices of India that have served since the establishment of the Supreme Court of India in 1950, which superseded the Federal Court of India. The current Incumbent and 48th chief justice of India is Nuthalapati Venkata Ramana, who entered office on 24 April 2021.

How many judges are on the Supreme Court?

The number of Justices on the Supreme Court changed six times before settling at the present total of nine in 1869.

How is the chief justice of the Supreme Court appointed?

The Chief Justice of India and the Judges of the Supreme Court are appointed by the President under clause (2) of Article 124 of the Constitution.

What are the 3 Supreme Court cases?

Landmark United States Supreme Court Cases

  • Marbury v. Madison (1803)
  • McCulloch v. Maryland (1819)
  • Gibbons v. Ogden (1824)
  • Dred Scott v. Sandford (1857)
  • Schenck v. United States (1919)
  • Brown v. Board of Education (1954)
  • Gideon v. Wainwright (1963)
  • Miranda v. Arizona (1966)

How does a Supreme Court Justice become Chief Justice?

Like the Associate Justices, the Chief Justice is appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. There is no requirement that the Chief Justice serve as an Associate Justice, but 5 of the 17 Chief Justices have served on the Court as Associate Justices prior to becoming Chief Justice.

What is the Supreme Court Justice?

The nine Supreme Court justices remain the final arbiters of the law, charged with ensuring the American people receive the promise of equal justice under the law. The court acts as the protector and interpreter of the Constitution. The US Constitution establishes the Supreme Court.

Who was the 1st Chief Justice of Supreme Court?

Justice Harilal Jekisundas Kania
The first Chief Justice of India was Sir Maurice Gwyer (1 October 1937 to 25 April 1943). Federal Court of India functioned between 1937– 1950. Justice Harilal Jekisundas Kania was the first Indian Chief Justice of India.

Who is the Chief Justice of India currently?

The current CJI, Justice Sharad Arvind Bobde is the 47th Chief Justice of India. Fatimah Beevi was the first woman judge, as well as the first woman Supreme Court Judge of India. She was from Kerala and held the office of Supre Court of India from 6 October 1989 to 29 April 1992.

How many total judges are there in India?

There are currently 32 judges (including the chief justice of India) who comprise the Supreme Court of India, the highest court in the country….List of judges ordered by seniority.

Name A. M. Khanwilkar
Gender Male
Date of Appointment 13 May 2016 (5 years, 354 days)
Date of Retirement 29 July 2022 (−88 days)

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top