What is Pecten pubis?

What is Pecten pubis?

The pectineal line of the pubis (also pecten pubis) is a ridge on the superior ramus of the pubic bone. It forms part of the pelvic brim. Pectineal line (pubis) Female pelvis. Pectineal line in purple slightly lateral to midline of bottom of central opening.

What is Ossa Coxae?

os coxae. one of three bones that form the pelvis. paired; the os coxae forms the lateral part of the pelvis; it is formed by three fused bones: ischium, ilium & pubis; also known as the innominate bone.

What are the surface landmarks of the pelvis?

Many pelvic landmarks are easily palpable on physical exam eg the iliac crest, the anterior superior iliac spine (ASIS), posterior superior iliac spine (PSIS).

What are the 3 regions of the pelvic girdle and the pubic symphysis?

The adult hip bone consists of three regions. The ilium forms the large, fan-shaped superior portion, the ischium forms the posteroinferior portion, and the pubis forms the anteromedial portion.

Where is the Iliopectineal eminence?

An eminence on the upper aspect of the pubic bone above the acetabulum, marking the junction of the bone with the ilium.

Where is the superior pubic ramus?

The superior pubic ramus is the upper of the two rami. It forms the upper edge of the obturator foramen. It extends from the body to the median plane where it joins with the ramus of the opposite side. It consists of an inner flattened part and a narrow outer prismoid portion.

What are the 3 parts of the os coxae?

In the adult, the pelvis (os coxae) is formed by the fusion of three bones: ilium, ischium, and pubis (Figure 6-1A and B). The union of these three bones occurs at the acetabulum. The paired os coxae articulate posteriorly with the sacrum and anteriorly with the pubic symphysis.

What are the three bony landmarks of the pelvis?

The pelvic girdle, also known as the hip bone, is composed of three fused bones: the ilium, ischium and the pubic bone. The pelvic spine is the posterior portion of the pelvis below the lumbar spine, composed of the sacrum and coccyx.

What are the 3 pelvic bones?

In discussing the pelvis, a distinction can be made between the “pelvic spine” and the “pelvic girdle.” The pelvic girdle, also known as the os coxae, Latin for “bone of the hip,” consists of the fused bones identified individually as the ilium, ischium, and pubis.

What is a iliopectineal eminence?

: a ridge on the hip bone marking the junction of the ilium and the pubis.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top