What are the labor laws in Alabama?
There is no state law for minimum wage rates in Alabama, so most employees are entitled to the federal minimum wage of $7.25 an hour as set forth in the Fair Labor Standards Act. Tipped employees must be paid at least $2.13 an hour in cash wage and make a total minimum compensation of $7.25 per hour, including tips.
What labor law posters are required in Alabama?
Please see below for all required posters….What’s Included
- Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
- Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)
- Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA)
- Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO)
- Occupational Safety and Health (OSHA)
- Employee Polygraph Protection Act (EPPA)
What is the legal age to work in Alabama?
Alabama child labor laws allow teens to legally gain employment at 14 years old. However industry guidelines may prevent minors from obtaining certain jobs.
Can you be fired for no reason in Alabama?
Alabama, like many other U.S. states, is an at-will employment state. This means that either you or your employer can end the employment relationship at any time and for any reason. You can quit whenever you want and your employer can fire you for most any reason.
Can an employer lower your pay in Alabama?
Employers may reduce employee wages at any time unless there is an employment agreement or contract that prohibits the reduction. Alabama does not have any laws addressing whether an employer must provide employees notice prior to instituting a wage reduction.
What are my rights as an employee in Alabama?
Are you an employee working in Alabama? Federal and state laws protect your rights on the job, including your right to work free of discrimination, your right to be paid at least the minimum wage, and your right to take leave from work for certain reasons.
How many hours can you legally work in a day in Alabama?
Work Hours in Alabama Neither Alabama nor federal law places limitations on the number of hours employees are permitted to work in a day or week. All employees who are at least 16 can work as many hours per day or week as they see fit.
What is the youngest age to get married?
With parental consent, a person can marry at 16. The consent of at least one parent or guardian is required for a person aged 16 or 17 to get married. Males at the time of marriage must be at least 18 years of age, while females aged 16–17 can marry with the consent of at least one parent or guardian.
What is minimum wage in Alabama?
State Minimum Wage Rates
|State||2020 Minimum Wage||2022 Minimum Wage|
|Alabama||$7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)||$7.25|
Can you sue for being fired in Alabama?
Under Alabama law, you cannot bring a suit for wrongful termination even though his reason for firing you is without a basis. However, there are a number of federal exceptions that trump Alabama law. These include terminations based upon race, ethnicity, age, sexual orientation, etc.