What are the classes in Paralympics?

What are the classes in Paralympics?

There are six broad Paralympics categories: amputee, cerebral palsy, intellectual disability, wheelchair, vision impairment, and “others.”

What is S7 class in Paralympics?

The S7 category is one of the most restrictive, calling for amputation in one arm and one leg on opposite sides, double leg amputations or paralysis of an arm and leg on the same side.

What is S4 class Paralympics?

S4, SB3, SM4 are disability swimming classifications used for categorising swimmers based on their level of disability. Swimmers in this class have coordination problems affecting all four of their limbs, or have movement in their arms but no trunk or leg function.

What are the 8 categories of disability?

1 – Mobility and Physical Impairments.

  • 2 – Spinal Cord Disability.
  • 3 – Head Injuries – Brain Disability.
  • 4 – Vision Disability.
  • 5 – Hearing Disability.
  • 6 – Cognitive or Learning Disabilities.
  • 7 – Psychological Disorders.
  • 8 – Invisible Disabilities.
  • What does S8 mean in swimming?

    S8 is for swimmers with coordination affected to a low level, movement moderately affected in the legs, the use of one arm only, or the absence of limbs. Swimmers in this class are at almost full capacity but lack all-round muscle power.

    What does S1 mean in swimming?

    S1, SB1, SM1 are disability swimming classifications used for categorising swimmers based on their level of disability. The classifications cover athletes with “very severe coordination problems in four limbs or have no use of their legs, trunk, hands and minimal use of their shoulders only”.

    What is C5 category in Paralympics?

    Sport class C1 is allocated to athletes with the most severe activity limitation, while the sport class C5 is allocated to athletes with minimum impairments.

    What is S4 disability?

    S4 SB3 SM4 Swimmers with good use of arms and some hand weakness with no use of their trunk or legs; swimmers with significant limb loss to three or four limbs. Swimmers usually start in the water.

    What is S5 in Paralympics?

    S5 is for swimmers with co-ordination moderately affected, movement highly affected in the mid-trunk and legs, or the absence of limbs. These swimmers have difficulty holding good body position or swimming straight, through the water.

    Where did the 2012 Paralympics take place?

    Athletics events at the 2012 Summer Paralympics were held in the Olympic Stadium and in The Mall in London, United Kingdom, from 31 August to 9 September 2012. Athletes were given a classification depending on the type and extent of their disability.

    How often are the Paralympic Games held?

    The Paralympic Games are held every four years, following the Olympic Games, and are governed by the International Paralympic Committee . In 2012 the Games will be held in London, United Kingdom after the city was successful with its bid for the Paralympics and Summer Olympic Games.

    What are the different disability categories at the Paralympics?

    Every participant at the Paralympics has their disability grouped into one of five disability categories; Cerebral palsy; Visual impairment, including blindness; Wheelchair athletes, there is often overlap between this and other categories; Amputation, the condition may be congenital or sustained through injury or illness;

    What are the different sports classes in the Olympics?

    There is one sport class for running and jumping events (T20) and one for field events (F20) and athletes must meet the sport-specific MDC for each of their respective events (running, jumping or throwing). T32-4, T35-38, F31-34 and F35-38 – Athletes in these classes are affected by hypertonia,…

    Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

    Back To Top