What are the 7 areas of learning Wales?

What are the 7 areas of learning Wales?

The Foundation Phase 7 Areas of Learning in Wales are:

  • Language, literacy and communication.
  • Physical development.
  • Personal, social and emotional development. Also, Wellbeing and Cultural Diversity.
  • Welsh Language Development.
  • Mathematics.
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world.
  • Expressive arts and design.

What are the Key Stages in Wales?

Structure of the National Curriculum Schooling is divided into four phases in Wales, each relating to pupils of different ages. Key Stages 2 to 4 mirror those used in England, with pupils in Key Stage 2 being aged 7-11, in Key Stage 3 aged 11-14 and Key Stage 4 representing the GCSE years of 14- to 16-year-olds.

What are the 4 core purposes in Wales?

The four purposes are that all children and young people will be: Ambitious, capable learners who are ready to learn throughout their lives. Enterprising, creative contributors who are ready to play a full part in life and work. Ethical, informed citizens who are ready to be citizens of Wales and the world.

What is the Welsh curriculum called?

The school curriculum for Wales is made up of: the Foundation Phase. the national curriculum. the literacy and numeracy framework.

What are the 6 areas of learning?

The Areas of Learning

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.
  • Communication and Language.
  • Physical Development.
  • Literacy.
  • Mathematics.
  • Understanding of the World.
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

What is the new curriculum in Wales called?

Diolch yn fawr to everyone who has played their part in this historic journey for education in Wales. Following Royal Assent, which is anticipated in April, the Bill will become the Curriculum and Assessment (Wales) Act 2021.

What is a curriculum for Wales a curriculum for life?

The Curriculum for Wales guidance sets out: the proposed curriculum requirements set out in legislation for all learners aged 3 to 16, to ensure all schools cover the same core learning and to secure a consistency of approach for learners across Wales.

Does Wales follow the National Curriculum?

The education system in Wales largely follows the structure in England, with the exception of the curriculum for Key Stage 1: Children aged three to seven follow the Foundation Phase curriculum and are assessed at the beginning and end of the phase.

What are KS3 levels?

The target level at KS3 is level 5, with the most able achieving a level 8. There are wide variations reported in the levels achieved at this stage. Very few independent schools take key stage 3 tests, most will have assessed the child at 11+ or 13 + via The Common Entrance examination (see below).

What are progression steps?

Progression Steps is designed for pupils who are engaging with subject-specific learning. This framework covers an ability range from pupils working at pre-key stage standards up to pupils working towards the lower GCSE grades.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top