How many NIST control families are there?

How many NIST control families are there?

NIST 800-53 has 20 families of controls comprised of over 1,000 separate controls. Each family is related to a specific topic, such as access control.

What are the security control families?

Security control families are collections of security controls all related to the same broad subject: physical access controls, awareness and training, incident response, and so forth. The precise number of controls within each family can vary, but each one will relate back to the control family’s basic focus.

What are the NIST 800-53 technical controls?

What are the NIST 800-53 control families?

  • Access Control.
  • Awareness and Training.
  • Audit and Accountability.
  • Assessment, Authorization and Monitoring.
  • Configuration Management.
  • Contingency Planning.
  • Identification and Authentication.
  • Incident Response.

What are the NIST control families?

NIST 800 53 Control Families

  • AC – Access Control.
  • AU – Audit and Accountability.
  • AT – Awareness and Training.
  • CM – Configuration Management.
  • CP – Contingency Planning.
  • IA – Identification and Authentication.
  • IR – Incident Response.
  • MA – Maintenance.

How many controls does FedRAMP have?

FedRAMP also suggests guaranteeing that the entire scope of authorization already encompasses the full spectrum of services. Low-level systems have exactly 125 controls, moderate level systems have 325 controls, while high-level systems are required to comply with 421 controls.

What are the NIST 800-53 controls?

What is a NIST control family?

The SI control family correlates to controls that protect system and information integrity. This control family includes NIST SI 7 which involves flaw remediation, malicious code protection, information system monitoring, security alerts, software, and firmware integrity, and spam protection.

What is NIST SP 800-53?

September 23, 2020 NIST Special Publication (SP) 800-53, Revision 5, Security and Privacy Controls for Information Systems and Organizations, represents a multi-year effort to develop the next generation of security and privacy controls needed to strengthen and support the Federal Government and every sector of critical infrastructure.

How many NIST 800-53 control families are there?

Here, we will take a look at the 18 NIST 800-53 control families, and give a general overview of the requirements of each. The AC Control Family consists of security requirements detailing system logging.

What’s new in SP 800-53 Revision 5?

The most significant changes to SP 800-53, Revision 5 include: Consolidating the control catalog: Information security and privacy controls are now integrated into a seamless, consolidated control catalog for information systems and organizations.

What is the 800-53 cybersecurity guidance?

NIST Special Publication 800-53 operates as one of the forefront cybersecurity guidelines for federal agencies in the United States to maintain their information security systems. These guidelines function to protect the security and privacy of and citizens being served.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top