Who is Lil Mo tennis player?

Who is Lil Mo tennis player?

Maureen Catherine Connolly-Brinker
Maureen Catherine Connolly-Brinker (née Connolly; September 17, 1934 – June 21, 1969), known as “Little Mo”, was an American tennis player, the winner of nine major singles titles in the early 1950s.

What happened to Maureen Connolly?

On this day, July 20, 1954, American tennis player Maureen Connolly broke her leg in an accident in which she was hit by a truck while horse riding. This injury put an end to the career of the rising star, which probably impacted tennis history.

What nationality is Maureen Connolly?

AmericanMaureen Connolly / Nationality

How many Grand Slam titles did Maureen Connolly win?

9Maureen Connolly / Grand slams won (singles)

Connolly had a magnificent career, winning 12 major titles in singles (9), doubles (2) and mixed doubles (1). Her career lasted a scant four years (1951-54), ending in heartbreaking fashion a year after winning the Grand Slam.

What is Little Mo tournament?

The “Little Mo” tournaments feature the youngest and brightest stars in junior tennis. They are designed to provide outstanding competition at the regional, national, and international level while also encouraging players to develop new friendships, learn good sportsmanship, and most of all, have fun.

When did the Open era of tennis begin?

April 1968
The open era. The first open tournament was the British Hard Courts at Bournemouth in April 1968, where the champions were Ken Rosewall and Virginia Wade.

When did little mo win Wimbledon?

Her aggression, anger, ruthlessness, and “hate losing more than I like winning” ethos lead her to going stratospheric in 1952, when she won two of the four majors, retaining her U.S Slam, and over the Atlantic in Wimbledon.

Who was the first person to win the four Grand Slams in the same year?

The feat has been achieved six times (by five different players). Grand Slam is commonly misused to describe any one of the four major tournaments. In 1938, Don Budge became the first tennis player to win the four major championships in one year and, thus, capture the Grand Slam.

What are the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments?

The Grand Slam® tournaments – Australian Open, Roland Garros, Wimbledon and US Open – are the most prestigious individual competitions in tennis.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top