What is an E-4 in the Air Force?

What is an E-4 in the Air Force?

Senior airman (SrA) is the fourth enlisted rank in the United States Air Force, just above airman first class and below staff sergeant. It has a pay grade of E-4.

How long does it take to rank up to E-4 in the Air Force?

In order to become an E-4 you’ll have to have 28 months Time in Grade as an E-3 or 36 months Time in Service with 20 months Time in Grade. In this case you’ll hit the 36 months Time in Service with 20 months Time in Grade first so you’ll be promoted to E-4 at your 3 year (36 month) mark in the Air Force.

Is E-4 a rank or grade?

The Army, for example, has the ranks of corporal and specialist at the paygrade of E-4. A corporal is expected to fill a leadership role and has a higher rank than a specialist, even though both receive E-4 pay.

How long does it take to go from e3 to E-4 Air Force?

The Air Force has a special program where commanders can promote a limited number of outstanding Airman First Class (E-3) to Senior Airman (E-4) six months before they would otherwise be eligible. This program is known as the Senior Airman Below-the-Zone Promotion Program.

What rank is E-4 in the military?

Corporal (E-4) The rank of corporal was established in 1775 with the birth of the Army and the NCO Corps.

How much is E-4?

Basic pay chart and raises

Years of Service
Sample Pay Grades <2 4
E-2 $2,054.70 $2,054.70
E-3 $2,160.60 $2,435.70
E-4 $2,393.40 $2,786.70

Should I do 4 or 6 years in the Air Force?

There are a lot more jobs that have re-enlistment bonuses than those that have enlistment bonuses. If you enlist for four years, your window to re-enlist opens up two years sooner than if you enlist for six years. That means you could get that big check two years sooner.

How long do you have to be in the Air Force to retire?

20 years
RETIREMENT. The Air Force provides a generous retirement plan. Airmen are eligible to retire after 20 years of service and begin receiving benefits the day they retire.

What is the highest enlisted rank in the Air Force?

– Airman Ranks (E-1 through E-4) – Non-Commissioned Officer Ranks (E-5 and E-6) – Senior Non-Commissioned Officer Ranks (E-7 through E-9) – Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force (E-9S)

What are the different ranks in the Air Force?

Air Force: Airman (E-1/2), airman first class (E-3), senior airman: Airman and last name Technical sergeant, master sergeant, senior master sergeant: Sergeant and last name

What is the Air Force rank structure?

The Air Force has three tiers of enlisted airmen: Airmen (E-1 through E-4), noncommissioned officers (E-5 and E-6) and senior noncommissioned officers (E-7 through E-9). The Air Force is the only branch of the armed forces offering NCO status in grade E-5. Airman Basic (E-1) A newly enlisted service member’s career begins as an airman basic.

What is the Air Force ranking system?

Promotion Fitness Examination (PFE) This exam is 100 questions revolving around responsibilities or leadership,history,and customs. The maximum points are 100.

  • Specialty Knowledge Test (SKT) This test is also 100 questions with a maximum score of 100.
  • Time-in-Grade. You will receive a half a point for each month of service up to 60 for TIG.
  • Awards.
  • Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

    Back To Top