What area of the body is divided into 4 quadrants?

What area of the body is divided into 4 quadrants?

Since the abdominal area contains many different organs it is divided in smaller areas. One division method, uses one median sagittal plane and one transverse plane that passes through the umbilicus at right angles. This method divides the abdomen into four quadrants.

What organs are located in the right lower quadrant?

Organs found in the right lower quadrant include the appendix, the upper portion of the colon, and the right ovary and the Fallopian tube in women. The right lower quadrant may be assessed when diagnosing appendicitis, in which case, this quadrant would be tender and painful.

What organs are found in the left upper quadrant?

What organs are in my left upper quadrant?

  • Spleen.
  • Stomach.
  • Pancreas (a part of it – it crosses the midline).
  • Left kidney (at the back behind the other organs) and left adrenal gland.
  • Upper part of the large bowel (colon).

What are the 4 quadrants of the stomach?

The abdomen can also be divided into four quadrants, known as the right upper, the left upper, the right lower, and the left lower quadrants. It is common to see these quadrants abbreviated as RUQ, LUQ, RLQ, and LLQ, respectively.

What are the body quadrants?

The quadrants are referred to as the left lower quadrant, left upper quadrant, right upper quadrant and right lower quadrant. These terms are not used in comparative anatomy, since most other animals do not stand erect. Side-by-side comparison of the quadrants and regions of the abdomen.

What quadrant is the spleen?

left upper quadrant
These organs are found in the left upper quadrant of your body: Stomach. Pancreas. Spleen.

What quadrant is the intestine?

Right Lower Quadrant (RLQ): contains parts of the small and large intestines, right ovary, right fallopian tube, appendix, right ureter. Left Lower Quadrant (LLQ): contains parts of the small and large intestines, left ovary, left fallopian tube, left ureter.

Where is the spleen quadrant?

The normal adult spleen lies immediately under the diaphragm in the left upper quadrant of the abdomen.

What is RUQ pain?

RUQ pain with a pleuritic component, pain is sometimes referred to the right shoulder. Aminotransferases are usually normal or only slightly elevated. Liver abscess. Fever and abdominal pain are the most common symptoms. Risk factors include diabetes, underlying hepatobiliary or pancreatic disease, or liver transplant.

What organs are located in each quadrant?

What organs are located in each abdominal quadrant? Here are some of the major organs that you’ll find in each of the four abdominal quadrants: Right Upper Quadrant: Liver, stomach, gallbladder, duodenum, right kidney, pancreas, and the right adrenal gland. Left Upper Quadrant: Liver, stomach, pancreas, left kidney, spleen, and the left adrenal gland.

What are organs found in right lower quadrant?

What Organs Are in the Right Lower Quadrant? Organs located in the right lower quadrant (RLQ) include the ascending colon, the cecum, the right ovary and fallopian tube, the right ureter and most notably, the appendix. Pain in this region of the abdomen is most closely associated with the aforementioned organs.

What organs are in the lower left quadrant?

Small bowel (ileum).

  • Parts of your large bowel (colon) – transverse colon,descending colon and sigmoid colon.
  • Your rectum.
  • Left ureter (at the back of the other organs).
  • Left ovary and Fallopian tube.
  • What organs are behind the stomach?

    Gastroesophageal reflux: Stomach contents,including acid,can travel backward up the esophagus.

  • Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD): When symptoms of reflux become bothersome or occur frequently,they’re called GERD.
  • Dyspepsia: Another name for stomach upset or indigestion.
  • Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

    Back To Top