What are the 6 geopolitical zones in Nigeria?

What are the 6 geopolitical zones in Nigeria?

Nigeria is a Federal Republic comprising 36 States and its Federal Capital Territory, Abuja [35] [36]. The states are grouped into six geopolitical zones, the North Central (NC), North East (NE), North West (NW), South West (SW), South East (SE) and South (SS).

How many geopolitical zone are there in Nigeria?

six geopolitical zones
How Many Geopolitical Zones Are In Nigeria And Their States? There are six geopolitical zones in Nigeria with each zone having similarities in ethnicity and culture amongst the states, there are also 774 local governments areas spread across these zones.

What are the four zones in Nigeria?

As Nigeria preparded for independence, the British worked out an arrangement which divided Nigeria into four regions. The Hausa-Fulani were dominant in the north, the Yoruba in the west and the Igbo in the east.

What are the six geo political zones and their states?

These includes Niger state, Kwara state, Kogi state, Benue state, Nasarawa state and Plateau state. Minna, Ilorin, Lokoja, Makurdi, Lafia and Jos are the major towns/cities here. Abuja isn’t a state but can be included among the states in the north central geopolitical zone in Nigeria.

What are six geopolitical zones?

The six geopolitical zones are North-Central, North-West, North-East, South-South, South-East and South-West.

Which geopolitical zone is Ogun State?

Southwest zone
Ogun State is entirely in the tropics. Located in the Southwest zone of Nigeria with a total land area of 16,409.26 square kilometres, it is bounded on the West by the Benin Republic, on the South by Lagos State and the Atlantic Ocean, on the East by Ondo State, and on the North by Oyo and Osun States.

Which geopolitical zone is the most populated in Nigeria?

Lagos is the most densely populated of all with a population density per total area of 2455.3 person/km2. Table 2.3 and Appendix I contain information on the population size and density of states in Nigeria and indicate that there are more people per square kilometre in the south than in the north.

What geopolitical zone is Lasu located?

Lagos State

Lagos State Ìpínlẹ̀ Èkó (Yoruba)
Geopolitical Zone South West
Date created 27 May 1967
Capital Ikeja
Number of LGAs 20

What is the meaning of geopolitical zone?

They are a type of administrative division grouping the country’s states, created during the regime of president General Sani Abacha. Nigerian economic, political, and educational resources are often shared across the zones.

How many geopolitical zones do we have?

How many geopolitical zones are there in Ogun State?

Ogun State (Nigeria) is divided into four main political cum administrative zones namely Ijebu (IJB), Remo (REM), Egba (EGB) and Yewa (YEW) zones.

Which geopolitical zone is Ado Ekiti?

Ekiti State (Yoruba: Ìpínlẹ̀ Èkìtì) is a state in southwestern Nigeria, bordered to the north by Kwara State, to the northeast by Kogi State, to the south and southeast by Ondo State, and to the west by Osun State….Ekiti State.

Date created 1 October 1996
Capital Ado-Ekiti
• Body Government of Ekiti State

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top