What are the 18 local government areas in Edo State?

What are the 18 local government areas in Edo State?

Local Government Areas

  • Akoko-Edo.
  • Egor.
  • Esan Central.
  • Esan North-East.
  • Esan South-East.
  • Esan West.
  • Etsako Central.
  • Etsako East.

How many local government are in Edo Central?

Edo Central Senatorial District in Edo State covers five local governments areas which include Esan South-East, Igueben, Esan North East, Esan West and Esan Central. The current representative of the Edo Central is Clifford Ordia of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

Which is the biggest local government in Edo State?

Orhionmwon local government area of Edo State considered one of the biggest local government area among those in Benin City.

How many local government are in Edo South?

Edo South Senatorial District in Edo State covers seven local governments which include Oredo, Ovia South West, Egor, Ovia North East, Orhionmwon, Ikpoba Okha and Uhunmwode local government areas. Oredo LGA is the headquarters (collation centre) of Edo South.

How many university do we have in Edo State?

Seven universities exist in Edo State, of which one belongs to the federal government, two belong to the state government while four are privately-owned.

How many wards are there in Edo State?

There are currently 193 wards in Edo state with 18 local government areas. A ward is an optional division of a town for administrative and representative purposes, especially for purposes of an election.

Who is the richest woman in Edo State?

Folorunsho Alakija is ranked by Forbes as the richest woman in Nigeria with an estimated net worth of $1 billion as of 2020.

What tribe is Edo?

Edo, also called Bini, people of southern Nigeria who speak a language of the Benue-Congo branch of the Niger-Congo language family. The Edo numbered about 3.8 million at the turn of the 21st century. Their territory is west of the Niger River and extends from hilly country in the north to swamps in the Niger Delta.

How many LGA are there in Benin City?

18 Local Government Areas
The Bini speaking people who occupy seven out of the 18 Local Government Areas of the state constitute 57.14%; while others are as follow: Esan (17.14%), Etsako (12.19%), Owan (7.43%), and Akoko Edo (5.70%).

How many LGA are in Nigeria?

774 local government authorities
Local government exists in a single tier across all states. There are 774 local government authorities (LGAs) and six area councils.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top